Three Scientists Have The Nobel Prize In Physics For Astronomical Discoveries

One American and two Swiss scientists were jointly awarded the 2019 Nobel Prize in Physics on Tuesday morning for their discoveries about the origin of the universe and planets like Earth with it.

James Peebles of Princeton University, Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz of Switzerland’s University of Geneva were awarded the prize for cosmological discoveries and the first discovery of an Earth-sized planet orbiting a nearby star, according to the announcement from the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm.

The Swedish academy yearly awards the physics prize to up to three people judged to have made “the most important discovery or invention within the field of physics,” as dictated by the1895 will of industrialist Alfred Nobel, the inventor of dynamite.

The award winners will split the prize of 9 nine million Swedish kronor, about $918,000, and in a December 10 ceremony receive gold medals from the King of Sweden.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker